Medical Student Curriculum Committee

The Curriculum Committee serves as the faculty decision-making body regarding content, methods, timing, and structure of the medical education program. The Curriculum Committee will work with the Associate Deans of Medical Education, and Student Affairs and with course/clerkship directors who will implement changes in curriculum, learning environment and/or student support services. The Vice Dean of Education (or designee) informs the Faculty Council, Executive Committee, and the Dean of major Curriculum Committee agenda items for feedback and recommendations with discussion of resource needs. As charged by the Dean, the Curriculum Committee has final authority of the curriculum.

Specific responsibilities of the CC include:

  • Defining the learning outcomes of the educational program associated with the six core competencies: medical knowledge, patient care, communication, practice-based learning and improvement, systems-based practice, and professionalism
  • Overall design, management, evaluation, and central oversight of a coherent, efficient, and coordinated curriculum
  • Determining the types of patients, clinical conditions, and appropriate clinical settings for education experiences, including the expected level of student responsibility
  • Monitoring, and when necessary, modifying the curriculum, medical student experiences, and methods used to assess student performance to ensure that curriculum learning outcomes are achieved
  • Monitoring the overall learning environment and ensuring high quality student support services
  • Maintaining compliance with all relevant LCME standards

Membership of the committee consists of:

  • Associate Dean of Medical Education, or appointee (Chair)
  • Chair of the Course Directors Committee
  • Chair of the Clerkship Directors Committee
  • Six members from the Faculty with 3-year staggered terms are recommended by Course Directors, Clerkship Directors, Faculty Council, Curriculum Committee members, Chairs, and self-nomination, with consultation from the Vice Dean of Education and Senior Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education, thus assuring a broad representation
  • Student Academic Chair from fourth-year class
  • Faculty Council representative
  • Two appointed members from Jacksonville faculty: 3-year terms

Fifty percent or more of voting members (including the chair) must be present for a quorum. The chair will vote only in cases of meeting quorum tied decisions.

Ex officio (non-voting) members include:

  • Vice Dean of Education
  • Senior Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education
  • Associate Dean of Student Affairs
  • Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
  • Associate Dean of Student Affairs Jacksonville
  • Assistant Dean of Medical Education Jacksonville
  • Associate Dean of Physician Assistant Studies
  • Academic Chairs of year 1, 2, 3 medical student classes (In the event that the Student Academic Chair from the fourth-year class is not present, the highest ranked class becomes a voting member.)
  • AAMC student representative
  • Assistant Dean of Admissions
  • HSC library representative
  • Directors of the Learning Environment
  • Director of Office of Student Counseling and Development
  • Director of Program Evaluation and Student Assessment
  • Associate Dean of the Center for Experiential Learning and Simulation
  • Medical Director of Anaclerio Learning and Assessment Center
  • Phase 3 Director
  • Director of the Collaborative Learning Groups, or designee
  • College of Medicine Learning Specialist
  • GME Medical Educator
  • Assistant Dean of Medical Education Quality Improvement and Accreditation
  • Director of Education Quality Improvement and Accreditation
  • Director of Health Systems Science, or designee
  • Ad hoc faculty members demonstrating interest in medical education, after review of request

Emails are disseminated yearly to faculty listservs to elicit self-nominations from faculty interested on serving on the Curriculum Committee.