Clerkship Directors Committee

The Course Directors (Phase 1) and Clerkship Directors Committees (Phase 2 and 3) report to the Associate Dean for Medical Education and are responsible for the daily operation of the medical curriculum. Any committee recommendations for significant changes in the educational program are submitted for review and approval by the Curriculum Committee. Chairs of the Course Directors and Clerkship Directors Committees are appointed for three-year terms by the Associate Dean for Medical Education from the membership, with the approval of the Curriculum Committee. Regular monthly or bimonthly meetings are scheduled, and minutes are recorded.

The Clerkship Directors (Phase 2 and 3) Committee is responsible to the Associate Dean of Medical Education and Curriculum Committee. The committee’s roles and responsibilities include:

  • Ensuring horizontal and vertical integration/coordination across the curriculum
  • Implementing the goals, objectives, and teaching responsibilities of the curriculum for each clerkship
  • Maintaining an organized schedule of educational activities and coordinating student assessments and evaluations in Phase 2 and 3 of the curriculum
  • Reviewing syllabi, learning objectives, and assessment criteria to ensure effective integration of course materials, teaching, and assessment methods and adherence to College and University policies, in collaboration with the Director of Program Evaluation
  • Providing input to the Curriculum Committee related to potential gaps and/or unplanned redundancies informed by course reviews, AAMC GQ, student outcome data, and other relevant data
  • Sharing teaching methods and education delivery modalities to promote learning
  • Reviewing overall student/class performance in preparation for graduation

Membership of the committee consists of:

  • Individual clerkship directors of required educational experiences
  • Phase 3 Director
  • Thread leaders
  • Director of Health Systems Science, or designee

Fifty percent or more of voting members (including the chair) must be present for a quorum. The chair will vote only in cases of meeting quorum or tied decisions. Recommendations will be presented to the Curriculum Committee for final action.

Ex officio (non-voting) members include:

  • Vice Dean of Education
  • Senior Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education
  • Associate Dean of Medical Education
  • Associate Dean of Student Affairs
  • Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
  • Associate Dean of Student Affairs Jacksonville
  • Assistant Dean of Medical Education Jacksonville
  • Directors of the Learning Environment
  • Medical Director of the Anaclerio Learning and Assessment Center
  • Director of Program Evaluation and Student Assessment
  • Director Office of Student Counseling and Development
  • HSC Library representative
  • Course Directors of Introduction to Clinical Medicine 1-4
  • Assistant Dean of Medical Education Quality Improvement and Accreditation
  • Director of Education Quality Improvement and Accreditation
  • Director of the Collaborative Learning Groups, or designee
  • Ad hoc faculty members demonstrating interest in medical education, after review of request